Computer Meltdown

My computer has been suffering from some hardware issues for months…something is loose or corrupt, but I can’t afford to fix it at the moment, so I’ve been limping along with hack fixes that make things tolerable. My computer had a bit of a meltdown in early fall which was remedied with a system recovery of the partition containing Windows. Last time, I had the opportunity to copy my Sims files before the recovery.

This weekend I had to do another recovery, but there was no getting in to save the Sims files beforehand. Unlike games on Steam, my saves are not backed up on Origin, so I lost everything. Disappointingly, not even the “my library” part of the gallery saves…so I lost all my Sims too, which I didn’t think would happen…I thought they were online in the gallery, and therefore safe. Until, I realized the library was gone, I had planned on just setting up the challenges over again. But now, I will have to rebuild each Sim from scratch. This will not only take awhile, but the ones that are built entirely from scratch will look different as my skill in Sim building is mediocre. The ones that I downloaded from other Sim users will look the same.

I feel like this is likely more frustrating for you, my dear reader, who has to keep filling out surveys over and over again with promises of completed challenges that are not fulfilled. I enjoy clean slates, so I may not be quite as annoyed as you.

What should I do?

  • Rebuild the existing challenges to the best of my ability using the data supplied in the surveys and my memory. The Community Town will have to be restarted, but with the same characters.
  • Start the existing challenges over again, allowing people to resubmit characters but also add in new ones. I’ll tweak the rules and the forms based on what I learned from the existing challenges.
  • Start shorter challenges that still require Sims, but can be completed quickly, and only do one at a time. For example, the 7-contestant Bachelor challenge is resolved in a few weeks, and I’ve completed many of those.
  • Refrain from challenges requiring reader-submitted Sims until my computer issues are resolved (hopefully by the summer). Instead, do stories with Sim created by me such as Legacy challenge, or short challenges involving one Sim reaching certain goals, etc..

Of course, I will take into account my preferences, but I really want to know what you would like to most read/participate in. Thank you! Feel free to leave a comment sharing your favorite type of challenge to read, or favorite story of mine, if you’ve been here awhile.

 

9 thoughts on “Computer Meltdown

  1. Pingback: Martin Bowling: Episode 1 | Opi's Sims
  2. Pingback: Martin Bowling: Episode 3 | Opi's Sims
  3. Pingback: Bachelor 4.3: Accepting Contestants | Opi's Sims
  4. Pingback: Martin Bowling: Episode 4 | Opi's Sims
  5. So sorry for the late reply! And sorry about your computer issues! I’m glad you like clean slates though, so that the new start won’t be too disappointing for you.

    I’m torn between voting for starting your challenges over with new sims or just focusing on shorter challenges. I think it may be safer to stick to shorter challenges if you’re afraid your computer is still at risk, but it also would be a shame to put the community town on hold since clearly it was a passion of yours.

    I think I’ll vote for just shorter challenges for now. This way, you wouldn’t feel overwhelmed getting so many characters/challenges started up right away.

    • Thanks for voting!! I appreciate it. It looks like it may get fixed sooner than expected! So, I’ll stick with starting up my Bachelor challenge for now, and then once that’s underway we can move on to another community town like challenge!

  6. Pingback: Who is the Next Bachelor??! | Opi's Sims

Leave a Reply

